I love running…for me

3 Mar

After tripping over my own two feet while on a run this past summer and really cutting myself up, I had given up running for a while. A little while ago, I decided to give running another try, and although it wasn’t easy to pick it back up cold turkey, I’m learning to really love running.

For the past three weeks I’ve gone on a four mile run once a week, and each time I can feel my speed, strength, and endurance increasing.I had always thought that people who claimed that they loved running were lying, but now I finally understand it. For the first two miles I feel almost like I’m flying, like my legs are carrying my forward of their own accord without me doing anything. For the later part of the run, I can feel my muscles working and my body strengthening as I circle back towards the comfort of home. 

 Image

After realizing how amazing running makes me feel, this Lululemon water bottle has started to rub me the wrong way. I love so many things about Lululemon, especially their free Sunday morning yoga classes, but the implication that this water bottle makes, that running is a punishment for indulging in dessert, doesn’t seem right to me. Running is a gift that we give our body; both a celebration of what our bodies can do and a time to reflect on our thoughts. Running isn’t a punishment or when you start to love it, even a task. Running is a gift that we give to ourselves and an indulgence of its own. 

If you are an avid runner, great job! If you don’t run often (or ever), give it another try. Release yourself from the mindset of running for a P.E. coach or running for weight loss. Instead try running for you, and try to look at running as a relaxing way  to reward yourself by increasing your health, your strength, and your awareness of your own power.

6 Responses to “I love running…for me”

  1. OneWeekToCrazy June 22, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    I agree! Recently I’ve been getting away from doing races, because I really enjoy just running for me, rather than adding another competition to an already competitive world!

    Cheers :)

    • ModernAlice June 24, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      Great idea! For me finishing a nice long (or fast) run first thing in the morning is the perfect way to feel accomplished from the get go!

  2. frankieluxe June 21, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    I’m a passionate runner, and not many people understand when I say “I love running!”. Not only are the endorphins magical, but all your stress just slowly melts away. It’s not all about burning off calories (added bonus) but I do it for my mind as well as my body.

    • ModernAlice June 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      I absolutely agree! It’s always such a treat when I let myself go on a relaxing hour-long run

  3. Julie Kendall March 4, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    I’m a runner, and I love it! Glad you are enjoying it as well. It’s such a great thing to do for your mind AND YOUR BODY!!!
    We’ll have to go for a run together, when I come out next time. Can’t wait!

    • ModernAlice March 4, 2012 at 11:32 am #

      Sounds great Julie! Can’t wait! Running has been such a great supplement to my normal yoga practice:)

Leave a Reply

