Real Life Inspiration Board

25 Apr

By now almost everyone has discovered the outrageously addictive world of Pinterest. But who really has time to sift through all of his or her pins? The creators of Pinterest wanted to emulate the concept of inspiration boards, but it seems that now Pinterest has made them obsolete.

I know that when I’m in need of inspiration, but am running low on time, that I only glimpse at a fraction of my pins. Having a real life pinterest board on my wall, however enables me to sneak a peek at the things that bring a smile to my face multiple times a day.

Months ago I decided that I wantd to put up an inspiration  board in my room, soI began searching through my mom’s Glamour magazine, my copies of Dwell, the monthly Free People catalogues, and whatever magazine I could get my hands on. After finally acculating a massive pile of images, I decided to go for it and transform my drab closet door into a colorful collection of inspiration. So I pulled out my mod podge and a paint brush, and went to work. While I was doing it, I was half afraid that my mom would be upset at my defiling of the house, but when I showed her the finished project she was impressively supportive of my project.

What have you got to lose? Go ahead and pick a place in your house or office where you want to display images that make you happy. You can of course do this on a piece of paper, wood, or worst comes to wort, you can always paint over it or put new images on top.

Here are some other inspirations boards from around the web to get your creative juices flowing:

Inspiration board from The Decorista

Inspiration board from Styleseeking Zurich

Chartreuse’s inspiration board from The Glitter Guide

Hanna’s inspiration board from iHanna’s Blog

Tanya’s inspiration board from HeyDoYou

4 Responses to “Real Life Inspiration Board”

  1. Jo September 18, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    I’m in the midst of creating an inspiration book… I have the large size of unlined Moleskine journals and I’ve been gluing groups of pics together. Some are rooms and products, others are of things that sparked ideas for things for me to make. All in all, it’s nice to have a hands on approach to inspiration!

    • ModernAlice September 19, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

      That is such a wonderful idea! All the beauty and inspiration of Taschen books but without the hefty price tag. I may just have to borrow your idea myself:)

  2. Julie Kendall April 25, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    I’m inspired!

Leave a Reply

