Fudgy, Dreamy Hot Chocolate Cookies

5 Jan

In my yoga class last the instructor told us that we were going to stay in headstands for a fun 5 minutes. Since I had only figured out how to get myself into a headstand a few weeks ago, I thought to myself “NOT going to happen.” After the third minute, when my body was about to give out on me, the teacher told us to switch from thinking about our fatigued muscles to focussing on our breath, and guess what..it worked!

To celebrate my amazement at achieving achieving what I had deemed impossible, later in the day my two younger sisters helped me bake cookies for the hike and picnic that we are planning on taking this afternoon (more about that in tomorrow’s post). For my first recipe post I wanted to bake something that I’m passionate about…COOKIES….chocolatey ones!

I had seen various hot chocolate cookie recipes all over the blogosphere and wanted to give them a try. The marshmallows on top and mixed in chocolate chips are an absolute must! They elevate this delicious cookie from a yummy brownie/cookie into a nostalgia-evoking treat!

First I measured out all my ingredients in order to reduce the actual assembly time (and reduce the chance of error with my young baking companions)

 

Fudgy, Dreamy Hot Chocolate Cookies

Adapted from Baked Bree

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter (room temperature so that it creams easily)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg (room temperature so that the egg expands)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups plus 2 tbs all purpose flour
  • 6 tbs high-quality hot cocoa powder (I might only use 4 of 5 tbs next time)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup regular-sized bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows (24 large marshmallows would work too)

Directions:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients (flour, hot cocoa power, salt, and baking soda) in a small bowl and set aside
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer cream together the butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar until it’s airy and smooth
  3. Beat in the egg and vanilla until just combined
  4. Add the the dry ingredients VERY slowly (My sisters rushed through this step, so some of the flour mixture came out of the bowl, and as a result we lost about 2 tbs. It was no big deal…our cookies were just a touch fudgier, which is fine by me!)
  5. Remove the bowl from the mixer and use a spatula to stir in both types of chocolate chips to the cookie dough
  6. Let the dough chill in the refrigerator for about an hour (It’s worth it in the end I promise)
  7. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  8. Spoon about 1 1/2 tbs  balls of dough onto parchment lined cookie sheets
  9. Bake the cookies for about 8 minutes
  10. Remove the trays from the oven and press in a couple of marshmallows to the top of each cookie then return the trays to the oven
  11. Let the cookies bake for another 2-3 minutes, or until the marshmallows start to soften and expand (Eat the remaining marshmallows while you stare at the cookies in the oven window)
  12. Allow the cookies to rest for a few minutes before transferring them to cooling racks

Enjoy your delicious cookies while they’re still warm with a cup of cold milk!

6 Responses to “Fudgy, Dreamy Hot Chocolate Cookies”

  1. Ismaa Viqar January 7, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    These look delicious! Thanks for the recipe. I will definitely be making these. 🙂

  2. savasana addict January 7, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Sigh. I badly want some of these cookies now…

    • ModernAlice January 9, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      They take very minimal time except for the endless hour for which they need to harden in the refrigerator

  3. Malou Prestado January 5, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    These are great looking cookies!

    • ModernAlice January 9, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

      Thank you! They are super easy to make too

Leave a Reply

