Versatile and Delicious Vegetable Broth…My Ode to Soup

8 Jan

Do you have a soup that you could eat everyday, multiple times a day, and never get bored of it? For me that food is soup.

Growing up I only liked super creamy soups lie New England Clam Chowder, but ever since I had my wisdom teeth removed two summers ago, I’ve been a soup addict. I adore almost any soup, especially spicy vegetable soup, flavorful vegetable purees, or Asian soups with seafood and vegetables. In terms of canned soups, Amy’s ChunkyVegetable Soup is yummy, but the Bisphenol A and high sodium content, makes me stay away from it whenever possible.

To fulfill my hankering for soup without wasting tons of money and packaging, I’m going to make my own soups.  I plan on making a variety of healthy, cheap, and tasty soups over the next few months. The secret to making really good soup is to start with flavorful broth, so I’m going back to the basics…broth.

For the past few weeks I’ve been saving carrot stubs, leftover portions of onions, unsused parsnips, wilting herbs, and whatever other vegetable scraps were in line for the trash bin. I put the marginal produce in a giant (reused) plastic bag in my freezer for when I finally get around to making vegetable broth. By doing this I’ve saved time and money, so I highly recommend that you freeze food scraps for the future.

I mainly used frozen scraps and other vegetables that I had lying around my house, but I also bought some discounted produce at the Culver City Farmer’s market the other day. You could also find cheap produce that’s past it’s prime in the back shelves of your local grocery store. Feel free to use whatever vegetables are in season or whatever you have lying around your house.

After making my broth I frozen it in 1/8 cup ice cube trays, 1/2 cup tupawares, and 1 quart containers so that I can add however much broth I want to make soups, stuffings, and other recipes in the future. I then transferred the broth ice cubes and small tupawares into a large plastic bag in the freezer to conserve space.

Below is basic recipie that I used, but feel free to adapt it based on what ingredients you have on hand.

Ingredients:

  • 1 parsnip
  • 2 red peppers
  • 1 green pepper
  • 2 cups of button mushrooms
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 4 carrots
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 1/2 yellow onions
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 5 stalks of celery
  • 10 peppercorns
  • 4 cloves
  • 2 sprigs of rosemary
  • 1/4 cup of basil leaves
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 8 cups of water

Directions:

1.Preheat over to 450 degrees

2. Thoroughly wash all produce, then slice mushrooms in half, cut peppers into quarters and remove seeds, break carrots and celery stalks into thirds, and cut onions in half

3. Place all vegetables except for celery (parsnip, peppers, mushrooms, garlic, carrots, onions, and tomatoes)  on a cookie sheet and drizzle lightly with olive oil, then season with salt and pepper

4. Roast the vegetables for about an hour or until they start to brown, stirring them every 20 minutes

5. Fill a large pot with roasted vegetables, celery, peppercorns, cloves, rosemary, basil, bay leaves, and water

6. Bring water to a boil, then reduce it to a simmer and allow it to sit uncovered for at least two hours (the longer the better)

7. Once the broth is fragrant and has a rich brown color, pour it into a colander to strain it, then ladle the broth into your desired containeers and freeze

Enjoy wonderful readers! What are you going to make with your delicious vegetable broth?

One Response to “Versatile and Delicious Vegetable Broth…My Ode to Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gingered Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup…A recipe fix up « Modern Alice - February 20, 2012

    […] Cups vegetable broth (depending on how thick you want your […]

Leave a Reply

