Miso Glazed Salmon with Mushrooms

10 Mar

I’ve been extraordinarily lucky that in addition to being a wonderful caretaker, my mom is also a fabulous chef. Growing up I sometimes took it for granted that every night we’d have delicious dinners, but as I’ve grow older, I’ve realized the importance of learning how to not only cook tasty confections, but also how to build satisfying, nutritious dinners. This inspired me to start a weekly supper club with my mom.

We decided that every weekend we would select 2-3 dishes and pick up ingredients at the local farmer’s market, then during the week we would cook up a tasty homemade dinner together. It’s been so great to get to spend time cooking alongside my mom without it even having to be a holiday or special event.

Miso-Ginger Marinade

Everyone should have a few go-to recipes in their repartee, so as to avoid being forced to turn to fast food. Knowing how to cook is a crucial part of growing up, and something that I cannot recommend strongly enough to seniors, like me, who are about to go off to college.

Coated Salmon

It’s so great to to be able to learn my mom’s delectable recipes and to discover new ones together. I’m so excited to share these tasty recipes with you!

Marinating Mushroom

With a side of vegetables or a side salad, this salmon recipe makes a great quick and easy dinner or lunch. You can make it for just yourself or to share depending on the size of your piece of salmon. It would also be great atop a bed of kale as a nutritious lunch to bring to microwave at work.

Uncooked Salmon

This dish will dazzle your taste buds with the umami flavor of the miso and the mushrooms, the spiciness of the cayenne, and the sweetness of the brown sugar and ginger.

Dinner is served!

Miso-Glazed Salmon with Wild Mushrooms

Serves 1-2

Adapted from Delish

Ingredients:

  • 4 Tsp red miso paste
  • 1  Green onion finely chopped
  • 1 Tbs fresh ginger, grated and peeled
  • 1/4 Tsp brown sugar
  • 1/8 Tsp cayenne pepper
  • 4 Tbs +1/2 cup water
  • 1 -2  Salmon fillet(s)
  • 1 Cup wild mushrooms (shiitake or any other type work well)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. In a medium bowl mix the miso paste with the 4 Tbs water.
  3. Add the green onion, ginger, sugar, and cayenne and mix well.
  4. Generously brush the miso mixture onto the top and sides of the salmon, then transfer the salmon to a glass baking dish.
  5. Add the remaining water to the mixture, then dump in the mushrooms and allow them to marinate for 5-10 minutes.
  6. Top the salmon with the mushrooms and bake it for 12-15 minutes or until the salmon is cooked throughout.
8 Responses to “Miso Glazed Salmon with Mushrooms”

  1. Leanova Designs March 23, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    I think I’m gonna try this one, I love salmon!

    • ModernAlice March 23, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      Great! It’s really delicious and quick to whip up for a dinner party or a weeknight supper.

  2. robert March 13, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Sara’s right; it’s amazingly tasty !

  3. Dan March 13, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    I am going to make this one! Very impressive (as usual).

    • ModernAlice March 13, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

      Thank you so much Dan! I hope that you enjoy this recipe as much as my family and I did!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. website - August 14, 2012

    Visitor recommendations…

    […]one of our visitors recently recommended the following website[…]……

  2. Cheater’s Shellfish Bouillabaisse « Modern Alice - March 19, 2012

    […] prefer my soup to mainly be filled with flavorful shellfish, so I decided to make my own. For my Supper Club with my mom, we cut down on the lengthy ingredient list to make our Bouillabaisse more appropriate […]

Leave a Reply

